A general surgeon has expertise related to the diagnosis - preoperative, operative and postoperative management - and management of complications of surgical conditions in the following areas: alimentary tract; abdomen; breast, skin and soft tissue; endocrine system; head and neck surgery; pediatric surgery; surgical critical care; surgical oncology; trauma and burns; and vascular surgery. General surgeons increasingly provide care through the use of minimally invasive and endoscopic techniques. Many general surgeons also possess expertise in transplantation surgery, plastic surgery and cardiothoracic surgery. *

Specialization: Hospice and Palliative Medicine

A surgeon with special knowledge and skills to prevent and relieve the suffering experienced by patients with life-limiting illnesses. This specialist works with an interdisciplinary hospice or palliative care team to maximize quality of life while addressing physical, psychological, social and spiritual needs of both patient and family throughout the course of the disease, through the dying process, and beyond for the family. This specialist has expertise in the assessment of patients with advanced disease; the relief of distressing symptoms; the coordination of interdisciplinary patient and family-centered care in diverse venues; the use of specialized care systems including hospice; the management of the imminently dying patient; and legal and ethical decision making in end-of-life care. **

Dr. Karl Ahlswede MD
Dr. Sydney Barnwell MD
Nabil Basha MD
Dr. Robert Boyd111 III MD
Dr. Edgar Cordero MD
Geoffrey Dunn MD
Dr. Macy Fliegner MD
Mr. Michael Freeman MD
Nasser Ghassemi MD
Dr. Segundo Gonzalez MD
Leslie Kohman MD
F Kurrus MD
Dr. John Lazar MD
Sara Martin MD
Dr. Bonnie Muncy MD
Dr. Michael Newman MD
James Nunnery MD
James Pepicello MD
Gregory Piskun MD
Heidi Regenass MD
Dr. Jay Riseman MD
Dr. Aaron Schwartz MD
Dr. Paul Slaughter DO
Dr. Michael Weinstein MD
Dr. Andrew Wooldridge MD

* Source: American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine [1/1/2007: new]

** Source: American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine [1/1/2007: new]